The Day I Asked a High-Profile Athlete Dating Advice Part 3

5 Apr

In my post about the rules on dating according to me (click here for a reminder read) one of my rules was be a classy drinker, yet I know that I, and 97.7% of my girlfriends have, at some point or other. . .or even multiple points. . .disregarded this rule.  Maybe we didn’t eat before we went out.  Perhaps we mixed several different types of liquor.  It could have been that we just lost track.  Regardless of the scenario, is becoming a sloptart and possibly winding up with your head in the bowl the kiss of death to a budding relationship?

Athlete informed me that in most cases, it depends what happens AFTER everyone has sobered up.  The girl who grovels and let’s it affect HER perception of the situation is the girl who will see the man running far, far away as fast as he can.  Remember – men are terrified of neediness.  It is attraction buzzkill.

So what do you do if you become “that girl”?  Own it.  Apologize to him once (that’s it – no more bringing it up again and again).  Clean up after yourself (if necessary).  Thank him if he took care of you.  If he brings it up again to joke around, be able to take the joke and even make fun of yourself a little.  When a girl is cool and confidant after making such a mistake, it is a HUGE turn-on.  Most guys have been there before so they know everyone makes boo-boos along the way.  When you seemingly forget about it, he will too.  Just make sure it isn’t an every weekend sort of thing 😉

Leave a comment